Rae Announces $14M for municipalities in Perth-Wellington

Today, Matthew Rae, MPP for Perth-Wellington announced municipalities throughout Perth and Wellington Counties will receive a combined total of over $14 million in 2023 for local infrastructure needs. This funding is part of the province’s overall $400 million investment through the Ontario Community Infrastructure Fund (OCIF).

“Our government is helping our local municipalities address critical infrastructure needs, such as road, bridge, water and wastewater projects,” said MPP Rae. “In 2021, our government committed to doubling OCIF funding for the next five years. These funds will help our local municipalities undertake critical infrastructure projects, while reducing the impact on their budgets.”   

“Ontario’s small, rural, and northern communities are essential to the growth and prosperity of the province,” said Kinga Surma, Minister of Infrastructure. “Our government is continuing to provide stable funding to meet local infrastructure needs and provide support in response to pressures from inflation. By supporting key community infrastructure projects, we are helping to grow and build safer, more resilient communities for generations to come.”

In December 2021, the Ontario government announced an additional $1 billion for critical infrastructure projects that support economic growth and job creation in small, rural and northern communities, bringing the government’s total investment to nearly $2 billion dollars over five years.

The OCIF supports local infrastructure projects for communities with populations under 100,000, along with all rural and northern communities. Municipalities may accumulate their funding for up to five years to address larger infrastructure projects.

Funding allocations are based on a formula that recognizes the different needs and economic conditions of communities.

Perth-Wellington 2023 OCIF levels are as follows:

Municipality2023 Funding
Wellington County$   3,252,789
Mapleton$      991,573
Minto$   1,143,388
North Perth$      862,029
Perth County$      827,069
Perth East$      361,593
Perth South$      370,408
St Marys$      702,983
Stratford$   2,709,199
Wellington North$   1,979,171
West Perth$   1,268,497
Total$ 14,468,699